How we score flight sim gear
Every score out of 10 is calculated from the specs published by manufacturers and from US prices checked on a given date. Here are all the formulas, with no exception.
Methodology updated October 29, 2026 · US prices from official stores, checked on October 29, 2026 · 45 products, 42 of them rated
The principle
No score comes from a hands-on test. We have not handled the products compared. Scores rely only on official manufacturer spec sheets (sensors, resolution, axes, buttons, travel, platforms, warranty, contents) and on US prices from official stores or named US retailers, shown on every product page.
A score compares a product with the other products in its category: flight sticks, HOTAS, yokes, rudder pedals, throttle quadrants, force feedback bases, cockpits and VR headsets are scored separately. The score of a set of rudder pedals therefore cannot be compared with the score of a cockpit.
The general formula
- Each criterion gets a score from 0 to 10 according to the scale below.
- A criterion with no published value is removed: the weights of the remaining criteria are renormalized to 100%. No value is estimated, and "not stated" never counts as "no".
- No score when the price is missing or fewer than 3 technical criteria are known (platforms, warranty and price are not technical criteria).
- The sale price shown on the day of the check is used when there is one, otherwise the regular price.
- This weighted average gives the raw score, rounded to one decimal place. It is then placed on the editorial scale below to give the displayed score.
The editorial scale
Every product we compare is an established market reference, already selected: a raw score of 5/10 does not mean a bad product, only a product that ranks lower than the others on our criteria. So that the displayed score reflects this, the raw score is converted with a fixed formula, the same for every category:
- The conversion is linear and increasing: the order of products is strictly preserved, as are the relative gaps between them.
- The bounds prevent two extremes: no listed product drops below 7.0, and none reaches 10.
- Today, raw scores range from 6.1 to 8.9 and displayed scores from 8.2 to 9.4.
- Both scores appear in the "How we score" section of every product review.
| Raw score | Displayed score | Label |
|---|---|---|
| 3.0 | 7.0 | Fair |
| 4.0 | 7.4 | Fair |
| 5.0 | 7.8 | Fair |
| 6.0 | 8.2 | Good |
| 7.0 | 8.6 | Very good |
| 8.0 | 9.0 | Excellent |
| 9.0 | 9.4 | Excellent |
| 10.0 | 9.8 | Excellent |
Examples: Next Level Racing Flight Seat Pro, raw score 8.9, displayed score 9.4; Logitech Flight Rudder Pedals, raw score 8.1, displayed score 9.0; Meta Quest 3S, raw score 6.1, displayed score 8.2.
Criteria, weights and scales by category
Flight stick · 4 of 5 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor | 30% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Resolution | 10% | Stated resolution in bits, linear interpolation between the points: 10-bit → 4; 12-bit → 6; 14-bit → 8; 16-bit → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Axes | 10% | Stated number of axes, linear interpolation between the points: 2 axes → 3; 3 axes → 5; 4 axes → 7; 6 axes → 9; 8 axes → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Buttons | 10% | Stated number of buttons, linear interpolation between the points: 4 → 3; 8 → 5; 12 → 6.5; 16 → 8; 24 → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Twist rudder | 10% | Twist axis for rudder stated → 10; stated absent → 4. |
| Modular design | 5% | Modular design (interchangeable grips, bases or modules) stated → 10. When it is not stated, the criterion is removed: "not stated" never counts as "no". |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $79.99.
HOTAS · 8 of 8 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor | 30% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Resolution | 10% | Stated resolution in bits, linear interpolation between the points: 10-bit → 4; 12-bit → 6; 14-bit → 8; 16-bit → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Axes | 10% | Stated number of axes, linear interpolation between the points: 4 axes → 4; 6 axes → 6; 9 axes → 8; 13 axes → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Buttons | 10% | Stated number of buttons, linear interpolation between the points: 10 → 4; 14 → 5.5; 20 → 7; 30 → 8.5; 40 → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Throttle levers and twist | 10% | Throttle levers: 1 lever → 6, 2 or more → 9; +1 with a twist rudder on the stick; capped at 10. If the number of levers is not stated but a twist rudder is, the base is 6. |
| Modular design | 5% | Modular design (interchangeable grips, bases or modules) stated → 10. When it is not stated, the criterion is removed: "not stated" never counts as "no". |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $224.99.
Yoke · 4 of 4 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Yoke rotation | 10% | Stated yoke rotation, linear interpolation between the points: 90° → 5; 180° → 9; 200° → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Pitch travel | 10% | Stated pitch travel, linear interpolation between the points: 80 mm → 4; 120 mm → 6; 160 mm → 8; 210 mm → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Axes | 10% | Stated number of axes, linear interpolation between the points: 3 axes → 4; 5 axes → 6; 6 axes → 7; 8 axes → 8.5; 12 axes → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Buttons | 10% | Stated number of buttons, linear interpolation between the points: 6 → 4; 12 → 6; 18 → 8; 25 → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Throttle levers included | 10% | Throttle levers included with the yoke, linear interpolation between the points: 1 levers → 6; 2 levers → 8; 3 levers → 10 (clamped at both ends). No levers: criterion removed. |
| Sensor | 20% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Weight (stability) | 5% | Stated weight, linear interpolation between the points: 2 kg → 4; 4 kg → 7; 6 kg → 9; 7 kg → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $339.99.
Rudder pedals · 5 of 5 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor | 30% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Resolution | 10% | Stated resolution in bits, linear interpolation between the points: 10-bit → 4; 12-bit → 6; 14-bit → 8; 16-bit → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Pedal travel | 10% | Stated pedal travel, linear interpolation between the points: 30 mm → 4; 60 mm → 7; 100 mm → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Differential toe brakes | 15% | Differential toe brakes stated → 10; stated absent → 3. |
| Axes | 5% | Stated number of axes, linear interpolation between the points: 1 axes → 4; 3 axes → 9 (clamped at both ends). |
| Weight (stability) | 5% | Stated weight, linear interpolation between the points: 2 kg → 4; 4 kg → 6; 7 kg → 9; 8 kg → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $319.99.
Throttle quadrant · 5 of 6 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Throttle levers | 15% | Stated number of throttle levers, linear interpolation between the points: 1 levers → 4; 2 levers → 6; 3 levers → 7.5; 4 levers → 9; 6 levers → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Detents | 15% | Detents stated → 8; adjustable, configurable or removable detents → 10. |
| Buttons | 10% | Stated number of buttons, linear interpolation between the points: 4 → 4; 8 → 6; 12 → 8; 16 → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Axes | 10% | Stated number of axes, linear interpolation between the points: 1 axes → 3; 2 axes → 5; 3 axes → 7; 4 axes → 8.5; 6 axes → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Sensor | 20% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Modular design | 5% | Modular design (interchangeable grips, bases or modules) stated → 10. When it is not stated, the criterion is removed: "not stated" never counts as "no". |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $172.05.
Flight stick (FFB base) · 0 of 1 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Force feedback torque | 40% | Stated force feedback torque, linear interpolation between the points: 3 Nm → 4; 6 Nm → 7; 10 Nm → 9; 15 Nm → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Sensor | 10% | Hall effect → 10; Contactless magnetic → 10; Optical → 7; Potentiometer → 4. When a product uses contactless sensors on its main axes only, the main axes count. |
| Resolution | 10% | Stated resolution in bits, linear interpolation between the points: 10-bit → 4; 12-bit → 6; 14-bit → 8; 16-bit → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Modular design | 10% | Modular design (interchangeable grips, bases or modules) stated → 10. When it is not stated, the criterion is removed: "not stated" never counts as "no". |
| Platforms * | 5% | PC only → 6; PC + one console family → 8; PC + PlayStation + Xbox → 10. Without PC: 5 with one console family, 8 with both. PS4 and PS5 count as one family; Mac does not change the score. |
| Warranty * | 10% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $499.
Cockpit · 4 of 4 rated
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum load | 20% | Stated maximum user weight, linear interpolation between the points: 100 kg → 5; 120 kg → 7; 150 kg → 9; 180 kg → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Supported controls | 25% | Number of control types the manufacturer says the cockpit can mount (yoke, center stick, side sticks, throttles, rudder pedals, helicopter controls, keyboard and mouse), linear interpolation between the points: 1 → 3; 2 → 4; 4 → 7; 6 → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Seat included | 15% | Seat included → 10; sold separately → 4. |
| Weight (stability) | 10% | Stated weight, linear interpolation between the points: 20 kg → 4; 40 kg → 7; 60 kg → 9; 80 kg → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| Modular design | 5% | Modular design (interchangeable grips, bases or modules) stated → 10. When it is not stated, the criterion is removed: "not stated" never counts as "no". |
| Warranty * | 5% | 1 year → 4; 2 years → 7; 3 years or more → 10. |
| Price * | 20% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price in the category, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 8.5; 1× → 6; 2× → 3; 3× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $899.
* Non-technical criterion: it counts toward the score, but not toward the threshold of 3 known technical criteria. Force feedback bases are listed in the flight stick catalog but scored with their own criteria.
VR headsets
VR headsets have their own score, calculated among the 12 headsets we compare (12 rated). It reads the official spec sheet only: we have not worn these headsets. A headset needs a US price and at least 3 known technical criteria to be rated, and the score goes through the same editorial scale as every other category. Clarity carries the largest weight because reading the instruments is what a flight sim asks of a headset first.
| Criterion | Weight | Scale |
|---|---|---|
| Clarity (PPD or resolution) | 25% | Pixels per degree (PPD) stated by the manufacturer, linear interpolation between the points: 15 PPD → 3; 20 PPD → 4.5; 25 PPD → 6; 32 PPD → 7.5; 35 PPD → 8; 45 PPD → 9; 55 PPD → 10 (clamped at both ends). Without a PPD figure, megapixels per eye: 3.5 MP → 4.5; 4.6 MP → 6; 6.5 MP → 7.5; 8.3 MP → 8; 14 MP → 10 (anchors set on headsets that publish both figures). |
| Horizontal field of view | 10% | Stated horizontal field of view, linear interpolation between the points: 90° → 4; 100° → 6; 110° → 7.5; 120° → 9; 140° → 10 (clamped at both ends). A field of view given without its axis (for example "up to 110°") is not used. |
| Display type | 15% | OLED or micro-OLED → 10; mini-LED or QLED with local dimming → 8; LCD → 5. Panel type not stated: criterion removed. |
| Max refresh rate | 5% | Maximum stated refresh rate, linear interpolation between the points: 72 Hz → 3; 90 Hz → 6; 120 Hz → 9; 144 Hz → 10 (clamped at both ends). |
| PC connection | 15% | Native DisplayPort → 10; wired USB-C video → 8; DisplayPort through a kit sold separately → 7; compressed streaming over Wi-Fi or USB → 5. |
| Tracking | 5% | Inside-out with an optional Lighthouse mode → 10; inside-out → 8; SteamVR Lighthouse only (base stations needed) → 7. For models sold in two versions, the version scored is the one shown. |
| Eye tracking | 5% | Built in → 10; not built in → 5. |
| Weight | 5% | Stated weight, lighter is better, linear interpolation between the points: 100 g → 10; 200 g → 9; 450 g → 7; 600 g → 5; 800 g → 3 (clamped at both ends). Manufacturers do not all weigh the same parts (headset only, with strap, with battery): the review page says what each figure includes. |
| Price * | 15% | Ratio = checked price ÷ median price of the VR headsets, linear interpolation between the points: 0.5× → 10; 1× → 6; 2× → 2 (clamped at both ends). |
Reference price median: $1,109.
- Prices are those of the version shown on each review: the cheapest complete version (headset with usable tracking) when a model is sold in several versions, and the sale price when the official US store shows one on the check day.
- Base stations, which Lighthouse headsets need, and kits sold separately are not added to the price: the review says when they are not included.
- No game support is assumed: compatibility with a given sim is only mentioned when the manufacturer or the game publisher states it.
- The score never depends on an affiliate commission: the same formula applies to every headset.
Scale assumptions
Some choices are ours rather than the manufacturers'. We publish them as they are applied:
- One-year warranty: 4/10. Thrustmaster states a two-year warranty for the EU only; for the US, no explicit period is published, so the warranty criterion is removed for its products.
- Contactless sensors stated only on the main axes (for example pitch and roll, or the main yoke axis) count as the sensor of the product.
- Hall effect and contactless magnetic sensors score the same, since both measure position without contact.
- Platform compatibility counts toward the score but not toward the threshold of three known technical criteria, like warranty and price.
- Cockpits: a yoke mount reached through a stand sold separately does not count as a supported yoke for the setup builder.
Labels and ranks
Labels apply to the displayed score:
- 9 and above: Excellent
- 8.5 to below 9: Very good
- 8 to below 8.5: Good
- below 8: Fair
Ranks are calculated within each category. On a tie, the product with the higher raw score comes first, then the cheaper one. A product with no score has no rank.
Setup builder and setups by budget
The flight sim setup builder combines a main control suited to the flying style, a throttle quadrant when the main control has no throttle, rudder pedals when the budget allows, and a cockpit if you want one. It only considers rated products that the manufacturer states are compatible with the chosen platform, and picks the combination with the highest average score whose total falls within the budget tier. On a tie, the cheaper combination wins.
- Airliners: yokes and airliner sidesticks or quadrant sets. General aviation: yokes. Combat and space: flight sticks and HOTAS other than airliner sidesticks.
- On Xbox, pedals and quadrants that the manufacturer says connect through another device are only paired with that device.
- Cockpits are only suggested with their seat included and, for a yoke, with a yoke mount included.
- If no combination fits, the selection is widened (no rudder pedals, no cockpit, lower budget tier), and the result says so.
The budget tiers on the home page follow the same logic for PC, with a cockpit from $1,500.
Sources and data
- Specs: official manufacturer spec sheet or official manual, US version when it exists. The link is on every product page.
- US prices from official stores, checked on October 29, 2026: the manufacturer's official US store or a named US retailer. Prices change: check them at the merchant before you buy.
- Images: manufacturers. Scene photos: Unsplash (see credits).
- When two sources disagree or a value is missing, the field stays empty ("Not stated") instead of being estimated.
Limits
A calculated score measures neither the feel of a spring or a gimbal, software quality nor long-term reliability. It ranks products on comparable public data. Affiliate links have no effect on these calculations: see our affiliate disclosure. Spotted an error in the data? Write to us through the contact page.